HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Jarrod'sTech

AMD Radeon RX 580 in 2018? Gaming Benchmarks and Review

827 ratings | 60894 views
Let’s take a look at the AMD Radeon RX 580 graphics card and see how well it performs in 2018. We’ll benchmark this card with some games and benchmark tools and find out its average and 1% low frame rates, temperatures at idle, full load and while gaming both at stock speeds and while overclocked, and hear how loud the blower style fan gets before finally decide if it’s worth buying at current inflated cryptocurrency mining prices. Check pricing and further reviews for the 580 at Amazon: https://amzn.to/2pJ9cf1 ► Subscribe for weekly tech videos! https://www.youtube.com/JarrodsTech?sub_confirmation=1 My camera gear: Panasonic GH5: http://amzn.to/2DRh2K7 Sigma 18-35mm F1.8 Lens: http://amzn.to/2DQHe7I Metabones Speedbooster: http://amzn.to/2mSDCtK Davis & Sanford Tripod: http://amzn.to/2FXkC6c Rode Videomic Pro: http://amzn.to/2FUDOBH --- Follow me on Twitter --- Twitter - http://www.twitter.com/JarrodsTech We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (509)
Smash-ter (4 months ago)
1:02 that should be 36 CUs not 32 😛
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
Oh no! You're right, oops
Zotac (23 hours ago)
reference cards are a joke, look at that tiny fan and these temps lol
Jarrod'sTech (23 hours ago)
Indeed.
LM_DCCXL (1 day ago)
ah yeah, I remember my rx480 msi gaming x, it had 60 dB playing me: andromeda, it looks just the same but with a 5 instead a 4.
Jarrod'sTech (1 day ago)
😰😰
EDvgtv (1 day ago)
Just bought my RX 580 today for my build!
Jarrod'sTech (1 day ago)
Nice!
use it for mining use a custom card for gaming :D also many ppl undervolt and underclock this card for mining cause it still get good results with lower power consumption
Jarrod'sTech (7 days ago)
Yeah I've heard that, didn't give it a go, I've been out of mining since 2011 back when I had 4x 6990s lol
Daemond Rogan (7 days ago)
Great review. I was considering this card for a long time and with this detailed review, It's a purchase. Thank you for your time
Jarrod'sTech (7 days ago)
No problem at all, best of luck with the 580!
Steve Erickson (9 days ago)
my XFX dual fan is wayyyyy quieter and oc'ed at 1466mhz. love this card
Jarrod'sTech (9 days ago)
Nice! I'd expect any non reference model to be way better 😛
Drummerboy135 (9 days ago)
Can someone help me? I have this graphics card and ITS SICK and runs all my games amazing! HOWEVER whenever I stream or record on Open Broadcaster Software it lags a lot and I’ve tried every setting
Jarrod'sTech (8 days ago)
Cheers! Good luck
Drummerboy135 (8 days ago)
Jarrod'sTech I’m not sure I’ll have to see but thanks and great video!
Jarrod'sTech (9 days ago)
Hmm not too sure then, any other resources maxed out while you do it? Latest drivers etc?
Drummerboy135 (9 days ago)
Jarrod'sTech usually like 19% roughly which I find bad
Jarrod'sTech (9 days ago)
What's your CPU usage looking like while streaming?
Ivan Arjun Lukman (10 days ago)
Damn, my 970oc is about the same and it cost me just 150$, WTF!
Jarrod'sTech (10 days ago)
Yeah I'd probably buy the 1060 if I was picking between the two, haven't checked prices recently but in the past the AMD one cost a fair bit more as it was better at cryptocurrency mining.
Ivan Arjun Lukman (10 days ago)
Jarrod'sTech yes, makes the rx cards kinda obscelete. I bought a gtx 750ti for 60, sold it for 80, bought a 960 for 80, sold it for 120, and bought a 970!
Jarrod'sTech (10 days ago)
Good deal! Yeah the 580 8GB seems to be similar to the 1060 6GB, so yeah I guess around that 970 level.
Plarage (11 days ago)
ITS BEAST
Plarage (11 days ago)
for its price, its budget beast
Jarrod'sTech (11 days ago)
It's ok 😛
Forecy (14 days ago)
It's not RX 580, its RX 480 btw :)
Jarrod'sTech (14 days ago)
It's sold as a 580 in the PC that it came with and HWInfo reports it as 580, yes I know they basically just rebadged the 400 series 😛
285 Tech (15 days ago)
Where are you guys finding the radeon branded cards?????? I can't find them to save my life
Jarrod'sTech (15 days ago)
I borrowed this one out of the Dell PC that I reviewed, not sure if you can buy the 580 reference model directly
Mitchell Halutick (16 days ago)
That isn't the best cpu for gaming the best cpu for gaming is the I5 8600k it beats the i7 so you're wrong.
Jarrod'sTech (16 days ago)
The differences are small, but in general it still does better: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GJGJ0RzPyL0
Angel Sierra (17 days ago)
I have a 1050ti , currently the 1060 still expensive i can go for a 580 It is a good upgrade? I usually play at high only to get higher fps
Jarrod'sTech (17 days ago)
No problem!
Angel Sierra (17 days ago)
Jarrod'sTech yea thats true, my 1050ti only have a year old and its fairly good, its better option to save for next gen to a real upgrade, thanks for reply
Jarrod'sTech (17 days ago)
It's not too much of an upgrade, go for it if you really need more and can sell the 1050Ti, otherwise I'd probably wait a little bit and see what the next generation has to offer as that shouldn't be too far away.
Haris Zaheer (17 days ago)
Even I was thinking it to be a 1440p card... It turns out to be 1080p card.
Jarrod'sTech (17 days ago)
Yeah pretty good for 1080p but I would look at something more powerful for 1440p myself.
Agent Hunk (18 days ago)
I like it.I bought the ROG Strix GL702ZC and I am happy with the performance.
Jarrod'sTech (18 days ago)
Good to hear!
Gideon Coleman (21 days ago)
This looks like the gpu in the video? https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Radeon-GDDR5-Video-Graphics/dp/B07BH3QPTT/ref=sr_1_14?ie=UTF8&qid=1532833493&sr=8-14&keywords=amd+gpu+card
Jarrod'sTech (21 days ago)
I haven't tested it myself, but this should give you an idea: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UT7at2ufEac
Gideon Coleman (21 days ago)
Jarrod'sTech How does the rx 580 4gb perform compared to the rx 580 8gb?
Jarrod'sTech (21 days ago)
That's the 480, which is similar but that one has 4GB, so half as much here and would therefore not quite perform as well.
do you have ultrawide 1080p benchmarks of this beauty?
Jarrod'sTech (25 days ago)
Hmm it'd probably go alright with medium settings in most games, just a guess though given it can basically handle any game at 1080p with good settings.
im so glad u replied :3. but do you think a rx580 (just like strix top oc) would be able to handle the 2560x1080 resolution. I've been finding benchmarks but unfortunately all are not updated and I'm not sure if the recent updates of AMD has improved these cards.
Jarrod'sTech (25 days ago)
Unfortunately not, I didn't have a monitor with any of those resolutions available at the time so didn't do testing for it, sorry!
Gentleman Dog 3 (25 days ago)
I bought it for 300 euros which was a pretty good deal if you ask me.
Jarrod'sTech (25 days ago)
Not bad!
Freememans (26 days ago)
I don’t have much money but should I get the rx 580 or a gtx 1050 ti?
Jarrod'sTech (26 days ago)
The 580 8GB is closer to the 1060, not sure about the 580 4GB if that's what you mean. Probably still the 580 though, this video shows how it performs against a 1060 3GB which will generally be better than 1050Ti: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vzx-us9g86U
Fat Nut (25 days ago)
great review, I just bought a Dell Inspiron: AMD Ryzen 7 1700 - 16 gig RAM - Radeon RX 580, basically the exact same thing you used in this review, I'm quite happy with my choice after watching this video.
Jarrod'sTech (27 days ago)
Nice! Yeah it's a decent PC 😃
Hakeem Harris (27 days ago)
4:35 sounds like you're about to board a jet plane
Jarrod'sTech (27 days ago)
I am, destination 60 FPS at high settings 😎🛫
KroneYT (28 days ago)
Up until Christmas 2017, I had been using an Intel Core i3 for PC gaming. I got used to it, my friends were horrified. I then got the Dell 5675 for Christmas that you showed in your video. I wanted to see if it was worth it, I'm glad to see that it is, as I am someone who isn't really in the know about computer parts. Naturally the person who is, is just a big Intel fanboy and told me that my setup was shit *ONLY* because it was AMD and not Intel. I need new friends.
Jarrod'sTech (28 days ago)
Maybe they're just mad AMD parts perform better than what they have 😛 the fact is the Ryzen CPUs offer really good performance for the money compared to Intel these days, as long as it plays games well for you then that's all that matters 👍
Basil9 (29 days ago)
What is considered a safe temp for this? Ive been worried that temps around 70 can damage the computer.
Jarrod'sTech (29 days ago)
No problem!
Basil9 (29 days ago)
Jarrod'sTech thanks
Jarrod'sTech (29 days ago)
If a component gets too hot, it will just throttle back and perform less, if it gets too serious things will just turn off, these days it's extremely difficult to actually damage something due to heat. 70 is perfectly fine, don't worry about that at all.
Jim Georgiev (1 month ago)
thats crazy! my i7 3770k oc'd to 4.2 with up to 5ghz turbo and 2gb gtx 670 x2 in sli score 11,800's in fire strike 3dmarks bench test. damn! i guess my old baby can still hang with the new stuff
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
I feel like sli will always dominate benchmarks like firestrike 😛
Pinkus Floydus (1 month ago)
Thats strange my rx580 with 4gb of vram runs pubg and witcher 3 at a solid 60 fps at 1080p on ultra.
Pinkus Floydus (1 month ago)
Jarrod'sTech Yes but this card has double the vram mine does and you didn't cover Witcher 3, I was just pointing out its strange because it is.
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
That game gets plenty of updates and my results aren't exactly recent 😛 and frame rate will vary quite a bit depending on where you are in the game and what other players are doing, without using my same replay not really feasible to accurately compare
cool guy (1 month ago)
I love this gpu
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
👌
LikeIwould (1 month ago)
In my country 1060 is $400 And Rx580 Is $440-$460 😑😥😭 Just tell me which one is better In Designing (3D modeling and Heave Video Editing And rendering) Im getting a 1700 or 2700 Cpu BTW
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Hmm nothing in particular comes to mind, I haven't looked at that many, only some MSI ones, I've got videos on the channel of them.
LikeIwould (1 month ago)
Jarrod'sTech Thank You so much Just found one 1060 for 385 Literally took me hours even Ebay is expensive im gonna go for 1600 coz its cheaper and i can probably get closer to 2nd Gen by Overclocking it. Thanks again Just one More Help here, any suggestions for the mobo ?
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
I'd probably just go the 1060 because it's cheaper and in games performance is similar, you should probably look for specific benchmarks in the applications you plan on running though. Sure, Ryzen is pretty good, little improvements with Ryzen 2 but the first gen is still good.
LikeIwould (1 month ago)
Jarrod'sTech im getting a 1600 for $220 its the cheapest here do you think its a good option ?
LikeIwould (1 month ago)
Jarrod'sTech So which one do you prefer for these Tasks ? Im confused please help me out here !
JustinPlays (1 month ago)
So this is the equivalent to a gtx 1080, or is the 1080 better
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
It's equivalent to an Nvidia 1060 6GB, Hardware Unboxed recently did a good comparison video between the two in a number of games here so you can see the differences: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1p9lySsrYcw
Udith Kavisinghe (1 month ago)
I have the PowerColor RED DEVIL Golden Radeon RX 580, I have clocked at 1475MHZ stable.
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Anything sounds better than the reference model 😁
Nuclear _LUKE (1 month ago)
what 1% low means please ?
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
It's a way of measuring the dips in performance, this video explains it pretty well: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l6WgbfG_z-k
Jaws Xensroid (1 month ago)
Just want to ask before I buy, the Gigabyte AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB is good?
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
It would probably run better and quieter than the one in the video, about on par with the Nvidia 1060 6GB I think, which is able to play all modern games pretty easily at good settings 1080p 60 FPS.
Ser Zippy (1 month ago)
i get better FPS with two 4GB 580's 😐
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
That is expected 😛 two GPU cores will make a much larger performance difference than double memory.
Sébastien Dubois (1 month ago)
I have a problem, I bought an Alienware Aurora R6 last week. It says it has a Nvidia GeForce 1070 gtx...Now I open the pc and noticed it's a Radeon RX 580 in there. Is this a scam?? Should I cry? Or just take a seat?
Sébastien Dubois (1 month ago)
Yep :(
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
No problem! Sounds like you didn't get what you paid for, so I'd definitely go back to the seller in that case.
Sébastien Dubois (1 month ago)
Sorry, it was listed as 1070 on his ads and when I received my monitor today, I decided to check all my specs... That's what I thought...Well the guy had no idea, he didn't even know what was better between 1070 and 1080 (no joke).... Anyway you said 1070 is a fair bit better, I have my answer. Thank you very much for the quick answer.
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Where does it say 1070? Somewhere in Windows, or do you mean when you bought it? If it was listed as 1070 when you bought it then sounds like they just sent you the wrong one, you should contact them about it and get the correct one as the 1070 is a fair bit better than 580.
Clint-Excalibur71 (1 month ago)
MSI releasing their MKII variant of their Armor GPU's makes this Graphics Card worth buying :)
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Oh cool!
UNcommonG8m!ng (1 month ago)
Radeon 580 is a decent gpu. It's a future proof gpu. I really like this one. It's great for dx12 games. But for dx11 games.
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Yeah should be pretty good for a while to come.
Louis rodriguez (1 month ago)
The only thing I hate about pc’s 6 months later your hardware is Obsolete
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Well maybe not obsolete, but possibly something better. I only just recently made a new PC in late 2017, before that I used the same hardware from 2010 😂
Oscar Castillo (1 month ago)
Didn't know there were 6 pin 580s. Though they were all 8 pin, both 8 and 6 pin.
Clint-Excalibur71 (1 month ago)
Aftermarket GPU's are 8 Pins, reference cards uses 6 Pins. It all depends on the size of the GPU
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
I think it's just the reference model, which I pulled out of an OEM Dell 5675 PC.
Hauzen Steve (1 month ago)
But can this run roblox?
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Sure.
Robert Galvan (1 month ago)
Hardly no one is buy reference cards or these blowers. please pick a better choice of doing 2018 Gpu's of an Rx 580
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
That is correct, in fact i don't think you can even buy a reference 580. Unfortunately, I am a small channel so I can only make videos with what I'm able to get, which in this case was this, yes it is not ideal but it's what I have.
Mike (1 month ago)
Can it run FORTNITE?
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Yeah easily, even at epic settings it will be no problem and work very well.
SOTOS S (1 month ago)
Just buy a GTX1070 it is much better
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
It is, but also costs more, this is closer to the 1060 6GB, which I'd personally still pick over this.
Roj Agid (1 month ago)
Keep it at 580 likes
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Haha perfect!
Colin Williams (1 month ago)
The 1060 outperforms this card, and they are actually cheaper than the rx 580 as well.
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
They trade blows depending on the game, hardware unboxed did a really good video comparing the two the other day with 27 games: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1p9lySsrYcw
Pedro Flores (1 month ago)
I’m planning to make a node 202 build with a rx 580 but worried it will get too hot
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
It'll probably be fine if you have anything that's not the reference model 😛
Proto Dead (1 month ago)
1060 6gb or 580 8gb?
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Hardware Unboxed actually just put out a really good video comparing the two a few minutes ago, 27 games tested: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1p9lySsrYcw
Proto Dead (1 month ago)
Jarrod'sTech I see, thanks for your opinion, would save for one
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
I'd probably go the 1060, generally cheaper as Nvidia cards don't perform as well as AMD for mining so they're less sought after.
Erics email (1 month ago)
I would much rather have a gtx 1060 6gb card.
Erics email (1 month ago)
better performance, better value.
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Me too.
Indranil Ghosh (1 month ago)
from where you got that model i cannot find it help!!
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Fair enough!
Indranil Ghosh (1 month ago)
Jarrod'sTech yeah if you say so, i just like the reference models nvidia founder's editions likewise
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
It's the reference model, don't think you can specifically buy it, I pulled it out of a Dell 5675 but you'd be much better off getting a third party option with better cooling.
Johnny K (1 month ago)
ive got a joke: AMD 😂😂😂😂😂😂
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
gottem
150booyadragon (1 month ago)
The fuck are you doing the card is barely a year old of course it works 100% fine in 2018. Jfc the pc fanbase is getting dumber.
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
The only suffering is coming from your comments 😂
150booyadragon (1 month ago)
Jarrod'sTech The world wouldn't suffer without your click bait.
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Ok time to pack it in, I'll delete the video.
150booyadragon (1 month ago)
Jarrod'sTech yes it is tho
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Is it tho
Trifler500 (1 month ago)
I can confirm that the dual-fan cards are much quieter at full load than the single fan reference cards. Or, at least my Sapphire card is.
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Yeah they'd be pretty good, quite a few people have mentioned their 580s are way quieter even with the fans maxed out haha, that's reference model for you I guess!
Andrey Ivashin (1 month ago)
Love the fast and straight forward video. Earned you a sub.
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Cheers, and thanks!
HarD TarGeT (1 month ago)
In my country AMD cards is much more expensive than NVIDIA graphic card. Even their old card are still extremely expensive.
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Same here, I'd probably buy a 1060 if I was picking between the two.
Isaac McKenzie (1 month ago)
Which 580 did you test? The 4 or 8gb version?
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
8gb
Jack Tuttle (2 months ago)
I have the same kind and was able to overclock yo ~1500 mhz and ive almost never heard my gpu fan get over 40 percent
Jack Tuttle (2 months ago)
Jarrod'sTech must've gotten a bad one or i just got an amazing one in my prebuilt
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Nice, sounds better than this one.
Does the titan x still perform well in 2018?! (The results will surprise you) (not clickbait) kissing prank
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Would watch /10
So is it worth in July when next generation graphics cards are gonna come.
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
At this point I'd probably at least wait a couple of months to see if the rumors about the new Nvidia cards are true, maybe some new AMD ones not too far off but not sure we'll have to wait and see.
GhostSamurai (2 months ago)
I love the pace of this video. I got the information I wanted as well as some good commentary on the findings in timely fashion. Thanks man
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Thanks! Good to hear, a lot of people find my talking too fast 😛
Toss Ftw (2 months ago)
So sad you're tested a OEM card. To much high temperature and lower clocks.
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
It is sad isn't it? Unfortunately it's the only one I had access to, if only I could just get any card I like!
DeXTeR (2 months ago)
1060 Still better from Rx580 Amd just suck in every competition.
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Just watched a really good comparison between the two in 27 games which came out a few minutes ago, not really that much difference: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1p9lySsrYcw
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
I agree I'd pick the 1060 if I was buying today.
[Fade] spellstorm (2 months ago)
Well, why dont you try to use one of the better RX580 instead of this potato one. My own RX580 got more then 1400Mhz. In most of the games (I havent got all of them) i had 10+ more fps. Oh, and my card goes up to a maximum temperatur of 55°C and im using fans for cooling my PC. Furthermore my room temperatur has an average of 28°C. At the beginning you told us that you always take good CPU's so why would you use an Intel? Dont you know that Radeon GPU's run better with Ryzen CPU's?
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
The simple answer is that I don't have access to one. I pulled this from the Dell 5675 video that I made, I don't have any other 580's to test with, so the only option was work with what I have, I can't afford to buy a better one just for a video. As for AMD graphics working with AMD CPUs, that is simply false, the 8700K is currently the best gaming CPU available regardless of paired GPU, and that is simply objective fact based on benchmarks.
CrimsonDante Gamer (2 months ago)
Also forgot to mention a GTX 1060 6gb can't go SLI it dose not support it as well as it has 2gb of vram less then the RX 580 8gb, which is a huge bummer you can actually find the RX 580 8gb for 200$ if you look carefully and if you can't the next thing will be its younger brother which has the same performance as the GTX 1060 6gb (Probably even cheaper then the RX 580 8gb) its the RX 480 8gb make a Xfire (Again if the games you play support it) and YOUR GTG for a while.
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
I guess that may be an issue for some, personally I'd never run SLI or Crossfire anyway and always favour getting the best single card I could.
CrimsonDante Gamer (2 months ago)
I did my HW and the best price per performance is the GTX 1050 ti 4gb card which is what I have on my laptop, and the RX 580 8gb for midrange. However if you wish to make it high range just make a Xfire (granted if almost all the games you play support it that's the Best for AMD) that's worth price per performence. Vega cards aren't worth it in my opinion. The Price per performance is too great of a difference to be worth it, if your buying vega 56 or 64 video cards that is. For that price tag its best to go with a GTX 1080 ti or GTX 1080, be smart and make the right decision people.
CrimsonDante Gamer (2 months ago)
The RX 580 8GB card its actually better then a GTX 1060 6GB my friend has a GTX 1060 6gb and we benchmark it and it had a Fire Strike score of 9,990. Afterwards I upgraded his PC to a RX 580 8GB RedColor Mining Edition for the same price as his GTX 1060 6GB and when we ran Fire Strike on his PC it scored 10,658. So yes when people say that the GTX 1060 6GB is a stronger card its not sorry Nvidia fans. I'm nether AMD or Nvidia fanboy I just buy whatever is good for the price per performance.
CrimsonDante Gamer (1 month ago)
that is true but I rather have a rx 580 8gb just because it dose perform better at curtain games and I mean really performs better. Like this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gWw5snjxC1s its close to a gtx 1070 performance level.
Abitamim Bharmal (1 month ago)
CrimsonDante Gamer the GTX 1060 uses way less power so if it's the same price you will save money on the long run
CrimsonDante Gamer (2 months ago)
I could understand that. I was just saying if you don't have a 1060 it would be best to buy a RX 580 8gb for the value or a RX 480 8GB which is on par with the GTX 1060 6gb in performance. But another reason why I even gotten the RX 580 8gb for him is because he had the Freesync technology on his monitor, which my friend did not know about XD. Of course you are right about not being worth the upgrade if you already have a GTX 1060 6gb for sure.
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Like I said, they're very close, it depends on the game being tested, I've got nothing more to add. If I already had a 1060 there's no way I'd "upgrade" to a 580 for a few FPS difference, it's more of a side step.
CrimsonDante Gamer (2 months ago)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9zLdD-sORXM&lc=z23eenaxgpumsp4qo04t1aokgzsqktnph2gzzvpnwqbmbk0h00410.1526077249785454. Here's a Video of Video Cards trading blows. :) did this prove anything to you? To me all this proved was the person personal opinion of the GPU'S.
Donut Party (2 months ago)
Msi edition of it cause i have that
Donut Party (2 months ago)
Thanks for telling me i kinda thought that either way but thanks
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Probably way better than reference model 👌
OPPAI POWER (2 months ago)
68 decibels? I think you are a some nvidia fanboy whos trying to stir up some bullshit here by manipulating your audience. *THE COOLER ISNT PART OF THE GPU. EVERY CARD MANUFACTURER MAKES THEIR OWN AND THEY ARE INTERCHANGABLE* ofcourse you conveniently show the loud reference cooler design (which isnt really quiet on nvidia cards either), as youre too much of a gay fanboy to just not mention sound when reviewing a graphics card, since youre not reviewing specific versions by different producers My RX580 runs at 0dB until 60 degrees and only then the fan kicks in to cool it below 40 and turns off again And wanna know something more? Its fucking configurable in software
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Haha, I'm just presenting the facts, you decide what you like. I do mention that it's with the reference cooler, and that 3rd party solutions would be quieter and perform better. The fact that you're getting angry and offended over nothing kind of shows who the real fan boy is :~) oh and for reference, I've only used AMD cards from 2010 - 2017.
Eric Duncan (2 months ago)
since when does a rx 580 come with a 6 pin power connector? in fact none, all spec at least a 8 pin power connector...
SnowX (27 days ago)
A 570 ahahahah
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Yeah others have mentioned that, I pulled this out of a Dell 5675 OEM system so I'm guessing it may have been custom made for them, I don't think you can just buy a reference 580.
Tom Dibernardo (2 months ago)
Thats extremly low for that card my armor rx580 stays stable at an even 1500mhz. Its gotta be the brand.
Tom Dibernardo (2 months ago)
Jarrod'sTech lets just say u cant hear it over the 2nd monitor with family guy on. 100% speed does get a lil loud but still quieter then a hand vacuum
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Sounds a lot better!
Tom Dibernardo (2 months ago)
Jarrod'sTech the custom one runs acceptably cool under load it only gets up to around 70c
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Yeah reference models don't seem to have as much overclocking headroom
Steve Ozone (2 months ago)
Amd need to employ a better designer for the shroud and fan. It's awful looking :-)
Clint-Excalibur71 (1 month ago)
They did, give it a year or two :)
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Bit loud too 😛
5:28 model?
Thx for answer anyway, I've just realized that it's Dell's specials.
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Of the graphics card? It's the Radeon 580 that I took out of the Dell 5675.
Meshal Albinali (2 months ago)
Pretty awesome video! I needed this ty :)
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
No problem!
Chris T (2 months ago)
this video isnt relevant considering this is AMD's current midgrade gpu offering... stupid...
Chris T (2 months ago)
Are you trying to tell me that somehow the reference PCB which is actually used on a bunch of manufacturers 580's with custom coolers attached and re-branded as whatever gaming brand they run is somehow going to be less relevant than the reference simply because it has a blower style cooler and is produced for AMD specifically and then resold? And you changed the name of the video, SLICK...
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Yeah my mistake for assuming a product you can still buy (580, not specifically reference) is relevant today for people who are looking to buy
Bill Killernic (2 months ago)
hummm there must be an issue with your 580.... I have an sapphire 580 pulse edition (which is essentially their lowest version close or identical to stock) and with a slower CPU (FX 8350) and DDR3 memory (2400 hz) I get 1500+ at ultra in the unigen benchmark
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
I just assumed it was due to the reference model.
Michael Gilbert (2 months ago)
MSI RX-480 - overclocks to 1340/2100. No reason to update... And the reason to buy AMD instead of NVidia is FreeSync, which is much cheaper than G-Sync.
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Yeah I think the 480 is essentially a 580 now.
Przem084 (2 months ago)
i say one more time to all clowns ... radeon by longer yong card if nvidia ... if more years radeon by beter in new game ... it all time that by ...
chaotic one (2 months ago)
I thought there was no ref rx580 ?
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
I've since found out it's an OEM part only used in some prebuilt systems, such as the Dell 5675 I pulled it out of!
Cippo95 (2 months ago)
Refence RX580? this card should be an 'oem only' card (prebuild pcs) made using the existing reference RX480 cooler and also the pcb i would say... AMD didn't launched a reference RX580, it was partner only.
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
That's right, I pulled it out of a Dell PC
Just Ian (2 months ago)
The sound like a Jet Engine, is it just this model or the other too? It's too loud...
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
No problem!
Just Ian (2 months ago)
Jarrod'sTech ahhh so that's what you mean, thanks bruhhh!
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Yeah me too. I'm saying I don't have any experience with any other AMD cards yet, so I can only comment based on my experience with Nvidia cards - the cooler designs of which are likely very similar.
Just Ian (2 months ago)
Jarrod'sTech I mean on the RX 580 series 😂😂
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Probably best to check other reviews of specific cards, I haven't tested enough different GPU brands to really have an idea of good ones, I've used a couple of MSI cards that had really good cooling, Nvidia though but I'd expect the coolers to be similar with AMD cards.
Just Ian (2 months ago)
I want to build pc with thi GPU, and the spec is: Sapphire nitro+ Rx 580 8gb. Amd Ryzen 5 2600x. Apacer DDR4 PC25600 3200Mhz 16gb (2x8gb). I do video editing and animating (such as blender). Is it good enough?
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
If you get x370 you might have to upgrade it for Ryzen 2 support, probably better off buying an x470 - the x370/470 is needed if you want to overclock it.
Just Ian (2 months ago)
Jarrod'sTech It's okay thanks before, btw since i'm using Ryzen 5 2600x, what Motherboard i should get?, is it the x370 or b350?
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
I haven't tested any of them so I can't really comment, sorry!
Just Ian (2 months ago)
Jarrod'sTech How about the temperature and noise from the GPU? Which is better, HIS IceQ x OC, or the Sapphire Nitro+?
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Yeah that sounds pretty decent to me!
Romick Vieira (2 months ago)
Pascal released since 2016, so, rx580 in 2018... performs the same as ever. Unless driver improvements -.-
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Yeah AMD seems a little behind, uses more power too than a 1060 which is equivalent I think.
Ciki Lord (2 months ago)
Would you suggest that I buy this gpu ( I have on offer RX 580 8gb nitro + Se) for gaming at 1080p/1440p for this year and next? High/ultra settings ofc.?
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Hmm I feel like it's plenty for 1080p, not so sure about 1440p though, it does ok and I don't really expect that to change over the next year. Personally I'd probably be looking at something close to the performance of an Nvidia 1070 for 1440p at high/ultra.
Christopher C (2 months ago)
If you want to buy a 580, then you should also add noise canceling headphones to your cart.
arnold shmitt (12 days ago)
got the same nitro+ and it is a beast with very low fan noise love it
chris Castro (1 month ago)
My Sapphire Nitro+ runs 1411mhz at 75c at 1500rpm max on stress tests. Never seen it go above that rpm. You can only hear a tiny, low-frequency whoosh sound of air running through the heatsink if you put your ear next to the case. Gaming is dead quiet, no joke.
FatBoy Diesel (2 months ago)
My Gigabyte 580 howls if I let it reach its 3000RPM limit, so I set my aggressive fan profile to a 2750 RPM limit. Unless everything is dead quiet, you wouldn't notice it as much. And it still says under 65°C when playing Gears 4 on Ultra @ 1080p with V-sync on. Reference cards scream bloody murder on stock can curves, as do manufacturer cards.
Tom Dibernardo (2 months ago)
The rx580 with the two fans hardly makes any noise till you spin it up over 75% fan speed
Miller (2 months ago)
Or don't buy reference cards. Or if you buy one, downvolt it and modify the fan curve. Even my MSI RX 570 was pretty loud stock, but modifying the fan curve made it supet silent and ran maybe 2c hotter.
Grendell gamer1 (2 months ago)
Does this works on dell 5675?
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Yes I got this RX580 out of a Dell 5676 for this video.
Antonio Baltazar (2 months ago)
I bought a MSI RX 580. I love it performs amazingly in games and looks great. I had some trouble with it at the beginning causing my system to blue screen but after some research and a hard face palm I realized it wasn’t updated. Haven’t had problems since.
FatBoy Diesel (2 months ago)
That happened to me with my BIOS for my Ryzen 3 2200G paired with my Gigabyte 4GB RX 560 OC Edition. It was so prevalent until I looked over the BIOS updates again and realized how far behind I was. After the update, I was fine and my 580 upgrade knew better.
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Glad to hear it's all working well, updates always help 😃
Funny how AMD is copying old model numbers from Nvdia.
FatBoy Diesel (2 months ago)
I mean.. AMD used 3 digits when Nvidia was using 4, so....
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Haha I guess eventually you run out of numbers and recycle them.
TOBEYplays (2 months ago)
4:33 you scared me! xD
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
😂
Mustafa Başaran (2 months ago)
this video image is not from rx 580, it has 8 pin input not 6...
Mustafa Başaran (2 months ago)
maybe, but rx 580 reference edition has 8 pin, and 180 watt power consumption. the graphics card looks like rx 480 in this video, also given fps values are lower than rx 580...
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Don't know what to tell you, it was a 580 from the Dell 5675. It's pretty clear that it's a custom OEM option, maybe only available in Dell PCs.
Mustafa Başaran (2 months ago)
power connectors count is 8 for rx580, but the count is 6 for this video... https://www.tweaktown.com/news/56904/amds-new-radeon-rx-580-570-spotted/index.html
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
It definitely is, it's a reference version which I don't think you can actually buy. I pulled this out of a Dell 5675, for all I know it was specifically made for dell pre built machines - my video on that machine is here if you want more info: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RSgLwzC9z6U
A Pepsi (2 months ago)
Yep this will be perfect for waking up my roommate so he can get to work.
iwannaquickscope (1 month ago)
Idk why people talk about how loud it is, I’ve heard my fans but they’re not loud at all
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Hahaha
Turnip (2 months ago)
These are the newer cards on the market. Vega are newer anyway. Those games are 2017 and older. The year does not make an fps difference.
FatBoy Diesel (2 months ago)
But driver updates definitely do. VEGA 56 and VEGA 64 are closer to 1070Ti and 1080Ti respectively at this point in time than they were a year ago. And those cards were originally 1070/1080 competitors.
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Not really sure what you're saying, yeah there are newer options, if you have more money for Vega. I disagree, the year does matter, drivers improve over time and games are updated and performance changes.
Durma Devam et (2 months ago)
I thought this one was very nice next gpu i would buy actually but seems too Not so my type of gpu especially the Sound was too loud ...
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Yeah if you bought one by a third party company rather than the AMD reference version it should run cooler and quieter.
Christoph Häutle (2 months ago)
My Rx 580 8gb armor oc reaches on a hot summerday by playing Sea of Thieves on highest settings 89°C. Have I to worry about that?
Arithro Choudhury (24 days ago)
Msi armor has really trash cooler,compared to gigabyte one or most of the other cards,so I wouldnt be surprised at that diff of temps,so I guess Undervolting,even if it isnt required for you is required for him
OPPAI POWER (2 months ago)
Christoph Häutle 90-100 degrees is okay for a gpu, but it shouldnt be above 100 Also remember the reference design GTX 480 with its 250W tdp and the cooler plate designed just like a grill for the perfect convenient egg and bacon cooking experience on your gpu? even they still work fine today
FatBoy Diesel (2 months ago)
Set your temp limit to 80°C and your target temp to 65°C through Global Wattman in Radeon settings. Set the fan RPM limit to 90% its Max RPM. My Gigabyte RX 580 8GB gaming (rev 1.1) has top fan speeds around 3000RPM, so I set its RPM limit to 2750. That alone kept temps below 75°C without that excessive howl/whine. No undervolting required. You can also change the acoustic limit for a quieter (or louder) experience.
Grendell gamer1 (2 months ago)
Turn the fan on max
Christoph Häutle (2 months ago)
Jarrod'sTech ok thank you for your help. Can I do this with msi afterburner?
MAADMAAC (2 months ago)
No one wanted this scrachy sound when you playin games so dont buy this shitty card
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
I don't think you can buy the reference 580 anyway, getting a different one with proper cooling will probably be much better, but anyway the 1060 seems to be cheaper for similar performance anyway.
Spooky Fox (2 months ago)
Best ati gpu was 9800; best amd gpu back in a days 7970 ghz; best modern amd now: amd wtf? I know you can better! Please, amd, don't make me coming back to nvidia.
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Yeah I went from 6850 > 6990 > 5870 last year when my others died, now to 1080 because I didn't really like any of the current AMD options.
Unlimited Uploads (2 months ago)
This reference cooler was specifically made for miners, and it also comes with a 6 pin, it almost looks like reference rx480. The reference rx580 has two fans and it has an 8 pin, thats the minimum specs for rx580, so dont buy this for gaming, temps will be trash and your experience will be choppy.
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
I'm not even sure you can buy the reference 580, this one came in a Dell system and I took it out for the review.
bobby boucher (2 months ago)
lol hahah with a 1600x and a rx580 on pug i do like 90fps easy !!!!! something is wrong with your benching
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
No, as mentioned it depends entirely on where you are in the game and what's going on, what other players are doing etc, it's basically impossible for you to run the same test as me as there are so many factors, which makes testing that game near pointless, but if you don't people will keep asking why it wasn't included.
bobby boucher (2 months ago)
its 1380 your not lucky :/
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
It's a reference model with blower cooler, not really unexpected, other cards would do better.
Serj Star (2 months ago)
I get easily 1500 mhz
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Sounds better 😁👍
Serj Star (2 months ago)
Im using the xfx model
Serj Star (2 months ago)
u caught me :)
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
You're also probably not using a reference model with stock cooler 😛
Frog - Tech - Tips (2 months ago)
I have my rx 580 8GB on way
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
👍👍
Frog - Tech - Tips (2 months ago)
Jarrod'sTech I will have xfx OC rx 580 8GB version I hope will be quite on full load I will definitely make review on my channel :-)
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Nice! Let me know how it goes 😃
Gamer1Wolf (2 months ago)
Since the prices for video cards here in Canada are beyond crazy for GTX series, this card seems comparable to the 1060. I did used own Radeon video cards in the past lol. RX580 is very cheap almost 300 here, while 1060 6gb is 200 more. So which card do you think is better at the end of day? i meanly just want to stream and do high end gaming, dont care to much about Ultra gaming now :p
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Yeah it does seem comparable to the 1060, I think the problem is the AMD cards are better for mining, hence the higher prices. At the end of the day I'd just go the 1060 today.
Grigor Kosta (2 months ago)
As I like AMD for the free sync feature on monitors, I just can’t justify that RX 580 uses 45% more energy than GTX 1060. 185W vs 120w for similar performance! It uses 5w more than GTX 1080 which crushes RX 580 by a wide margin and uses 180W! AMD have a long story of its GPU’s consuming vast amounts of power. They have to work and fix this issue for the next GPUs generation.
arnold shmitt (7 days ago)
amd is focussing on cpu market right now and they are making some headway in that segment re energising the competition in cpu segment , as for amd gpu segment they have stated that they will compete in compute segment for workstation since that was what vega was specialised for anyway since their is more money made in the professional market , amd has said that they will compete in mainstream gpu market so navi 10 is said to have performance equal to 1080 or 1080ti at 200 to 300$ price range which should be more than enough horsepower for most people for gaming
Grigor Kosta (7 days ago)
arnold shmitt Yep. I agree with you with many statements. 8gb of vram on RX 580 vs 6gb on gtx 1060. Direct X 12 runs better on AMD. I’m not a fanboy of Nvidia. I just stated a fact. As for me I have on my Ryzen 2600x system Asus Rog Strix RX 580 due to free sync monitor that I have. I have nothing against AMD. I just want it to improve and to compete with Nvidia specially on the high end. Vega 65 it’s comparable with GTX 1070ti. Gtx 1080 and 1080ti have no competition. Nvidia it’s releasing new series shortly. And has no release in schedule for this year. More competition it’s better for the consumer. But looks like AMD can’t keep the pace with Nvidia. Wish the best for AMD.
arnold shmitt (7 days ago)
yeah so what nvidia plans artificial obsolence in their product so that people buys their new product will you support that company , i will not as for rx 580 yes it is not as efficient as gtx 1060 , however amd has been making constant improvement in their drivers in some games even better than nvidia , also really love the better direct x 12 support in games as compared to nvidia gtx 1060 and since i game in 1440p the 8gb vram of gpu also make sure i have all the vram needed for extra graphic details , yes rx 580 is not as power efficient so what i got it 10 dollar cheaper too in a discount sale at shop before the crypto currency shitshow
Grigor Kosta (7 days ago)
arnold shmitt Bro. Under load RX 580 eats up 220w. If I accept that it’s true that RX 580 consumes under load 185w then why we shouldn’t accept that this point it’s valid for gtx 1060? So gtx 1060 under load 120w. Still your point it’s worthless. 50% power for same performance. Let’s accept. Nvidia GPU’s have better architectures they can handle tasks with less power. AMD should use brute force to achieve same result due to poorer architecture. This is the issue. Simple as that.
arnold shmitt (12 days ago)
that much energy is only used when the gpu is under load , in normal load it is just 20 to 30 watt unless you game all day and amd chill make the gpu more energy efficient

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.