HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Jarrod'sTech

AMD Radeon RX 580 in 2018? Gaming Benchmarks and Review

1180 ratings | 96550 views
Let’s take a look at the AMD Radeon RX 580 graphics card and see how well it performs in 2018. We’ll benchmark this card with some games and benchmark tools and find out its average and 1% low frame rates, temperatures at idle, full load and while gaming both at stock speeds and while overclocked, and hear how loud the blower style fan gets before finally decide if it’s worth buying at current inflated cryptocurrency mining prices. Check pricing and further reviews for the 580 at Amazon: https://amzn.to/2pJ9cf1 ► Subscribe for weekly tech videos! https://www.youtube.com/JarrodsTech?sub_confirmation=1 My camera gear: Panasonic GH5: http://amzn.to/2DRh2K7 Sigma 18-35mm F1.8 Lens: http://amzn.to/2DQHe7I Metabones Speedbooster: http://amzn.to/2mSDCtK Davis & Sanford Tripod: http://amzn.to/2FXkC6c Rode Videomic Pro: http://amzn.to/2FUDOBH --- Follow me on Twitter --- Twitter - http://www.twitter.com/JarrodsTech We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (661)
Smash-ter (7 months ago)
1:02 that should be 36 CUs not 32 😛
Jarrod'sTech (7 months ago)
Oh no! You're right, oops
XXtryharderXX (3 days ago)
I’m getting a rx 580 since the price is going downwards it’s on amazon for 209
Jarrod'sTech (3 days ago)
Nice! I picked a new one up recently too for future comparisons 👍
order 66 (4 days ago)
you can get a new one on ebay for $190 right now.
Jarrod'sTech (4 days ago)
Yeah they've gone down a bit, this one in the video was borrowed but I just bought my own one for future videos.
STARK KASPER (4 days ago)
Does it support vr
Jarrod'sTech (4 days ago)
You can check benchmarks for it I guess, but my understanding is it performs near the 1060 which is the minimum required GPU on the Nvidia side for VR.
STARK KASPER (4 days ago)
+Jarrod'sTech i have the rx
Jarrod'sTech (4 days ago)
I'm actually not sure, I think the 580 does
Subhajit Chatterjee (7 days ago)
4:35 When you die of shock😵😵😵
Jarrod'sTech (7 days ago)
lol
tuan an Vu (9 days ago)
Well, i have party with uhd 670
Jarrod'sTech (9 days ago)
Oh?
bubdubs (10 days ago)
just picked up a 4gb MSI Armor ver for $125, Replacing a 7870xt, Cant wait!
Jarrod'sTech (10 days ago)
+bubdubs Sounds like a nice upgrade! Thanks, and welcome 😃
bubdubs (10 days ago)
+Jarrod'sTech yessir cant wait to use it, currently rocking a dell work station with a i5 4570/8gb/500gb SSD. I have the case for my next super budget build already, hopefully I can pick up a ryzen 5 2600/mobo/ram on black friday but it may take me til dec to finish the build. Also subbed cuz u replied <3
Jarrod'sTech (10 days ago)
Wow nice deal! 👌
LordMeme (12 days ago)
i got my rx580 for 200$ lol
Jarrod'sTech (12 days ago)
Nice! I got one for myself recently as they have gone down in price a fair bit recently 👍
BKLYNVEX RECORDS (16 days ago)
I got the best deal on a Asus Rx 580 8gb for 133$ open box amd got 3 good games worth 150$.....the card was basically free!!!!! :D
Cody Zeik (8 days ago)
BKLYNVEX RECORDS where??
Jarrod'sTech (16 days ago)
Nice deal!
Nickolas McKenzie (16 days ago)
I believe you can get this in Australia for $399 for the 8gb version. Even cheaper if it's a 4gb
Jarrod'sTech (16 days ago)
Yeah 580s have gone down a bit lately I recently bought a better 8gb for future testing and comparisons
John Macaulay (17 days ago)
Woah wonder how 2017 graphic card performs in 2018. There's no new gpus at that price point so why does it need to be reviewed again.
John Macaulay (16 days ago)
+Jarrod'sTech will stay tuned for more videos then.
Jarrod'sTech (17 days ago)
It was not 😛 I have recently been able to get stuff closer to launch as the channel has started to grow though, I had the 9900K, 2920X, 2950X, RTX 2080 for day 1 reviews over the last few months so hopefully more of that to come 👍
John Macaulay (17 days ago)
+Jarrod'sTech Ok that makes sense. I see so many iPhone X one week late, one month later, 6 weeks later, ect. Good to hear it wasn't just lazy content.
Jarrod'sTech (17 days ago)
Well I guess it is still 6 months old, I have updated my game suite to test with newer stuff, though I still keep some older ones in there because I'm just not in a position to go and spend hundreds of dollars on new games continually just for testing unfortunately.
John Macaulay (17 days ago)
+Jarrod'sTech  Wow didn't expect a reply on such an old video. There's nothing wrong with testing hardware late, especially if you're testing how new games perform. Like you said people must agree, the video did do pretty well. The biggest problem I had with it was I think most games you tested came out before the rx580 was released. How does it performs in 2018 doesn't mean a whole heap if you're not testing 2018 (or even 2017) games.
Bob Goblin (18 days ago)
Their big fail is only support for Windows 7 or 10....windows 8 and 8.1 should have driver support
Jarrod'sTech (18 days ago)
Oh I didn't know that, seems weird to exclude 8 :/
Cody Campbell (21 days ago)
I had the rx 560 lol
Jarrod'sTech (21 days ago)
I got one recently for testing, will be interesting to see how it compares!
John Johnson (22 days ago)
this card is shit xfx r580 dont buy cant stream and play at the same time and some times just shut down while playing always saying a problem with mantel i had r9 270 and it did fine im done with amd cards going with the green guys asap
Jarrod'sTech (21 days ago)
Yeah reference cards aren't great, but I can't see why that would be the case unless some driver issue or problem with the specific game and AMD graphics 🤔
Don't Just Stare At It (22 days ago)
Rx 580 is down to $240 right now!!!
Don't Just Stare At It (21 days ago)
+Jarrod'sTech I bought mine around May when prices just started dropping. Bought it for like $320 after rebate. I guess I should have waited and could have maybe bought a Vega 56 or 1070! Oh well. Needed the upgrade haha.
Jarrod'sTech (21 days ago)
Oh my! Nice 👌
BorkBoi (22 days ago)
Late october update most 580s are now at 250 usd
Jarrod'sTech (22 days ago)
Cool thanks for the update
Bogs Binny (22 days ago)
Ill get a Sapphire RX 580 but it's nice to see reviews of other versions, just to stay with that one
Jarrod'sTech (22 days ago)
Nice! Yeah the Sapphire card should be much better than this all round (cooling/temps/performance).
Zacarriss (23 days ago)
I Got a Sapphire RX580 Pulse Edition 8gb Version and the Cooling Solution is way better! Duel Fan Blower and a Nice Back Plate... It's pretty quite under load so yeah avoid the Reference Models.
Jarrod'sTech (22 days ago)
Nice! Yeah I've heard some good things about Sapphire cards, I haven't had the chance to test any out for myself just yet unfortunately.
Zacarriss (23 days ago)
+Jarrod'sTech also I used Msi Afterburner to set a Custom Fan curve that kicks in at 30c at 30% 40c at 50%, it usually tops out at 60c in Mech Warrior Online with Max Settings at 70% Fan Speed the noise is audible but bearable... Ironically the Fans are slightly out of sink though the RPM is the same and the Thermals are good, this kind of gives it a pulse sound, which is kind of Adorable... Overall I think I am going to be good for good span with a Ryzen 2600x and the Rx580 and 16gb of Lpx Vengeance XMP 3000Mhz... Also Sapphire is known for it's Durable Cards... Have a Stash of Old Warhorses... Other Games I have Tested are Fallout 4, For Honor, Wow, POE and Several Others the Temps are Quite Predictable hitting 60c on Average... My Idle is 30c... Most of my Games hit 60fps or Exceed it though I just lock it at 60fps to prevent any tearing as my Panel is only 60Hz even if it can say 100fps or more I doubt I'd see it properly. Ehh anyway Compared to the Spare 1050 Ti I was Running this thing is at least 45% better at 1080p even if it requires more power, but I got a 650W PSU so I am Fine
Jarrod'sTech (23 days ago)
Nice! Yeah reference coolers are garbage in comparison to others lol
PC Gaming Benchmarks (26 days ago)
Get an r9 290 overclock it and your set
PC Gaming Benchmarks (26 days ago)
Jarrod'sTech i get what you mean but you can get an r9 290 for 100 dollars now a days it’s a great budget card even 1440p is great on it
Jarrod'sTech (26 days ago)
Hmm I guess hard to compare those games directly unless you play in the same map as me with the same stuff happening, that's why I try to use a mix of built in benchmarks, easier to compare with! That said this is only a reference model, so I wouldn't be surprised if some third party board partner card from a previous generation was competitive.
PC Gaming Benchmarks (26 days ago)
I was getting around the same fps on bf1 as in your video , in PUBG it stays above 60fps at all times on ultra settings but my graphics card is heavily overclocked and has a after market fan
Jarrod'sTech (26 days ago)
Haven't really seen how that compares to the 580 to be honest.
Giancarlo Amaya (28 days ago)
I get that its a mid - highish card but no back plate?
Jarrod'sTech (28 days ago)
It's a stick reference card, some of the board partner models may have it, I haven't really looked
Mitchell M. (1 month ago)
Still loving my rx 580 8gb :D
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Yeah it's still pretty decent!
Loïs Qutob (1 month ago)
great video
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Thanks!
Mitch Yyyy (1 month ago)
You wanted to test out Vulkan but didn't use Doom which turns the 580 into a beast on Vulkan
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Yeah back when I made this video I was probably still using fraps rather than OCAT, which doesn't let you record stats from Vulkan. I swapped to Vulkan months ago though, this is just an older video.
Mitch Yyyy (1 month ago)
How about Crossfire for future proofing
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
I've never tested Crossfire, but it depends heavily on how a particular game supports multi GPU, I wouldn't rely on it and would always just buy the best single card I could at the time.
Noobington (1 month ago)
wayyy to loud my 1060 is almost silent i bet people in the discord you talk in can hear you gpu fan oh mah gah
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Haha, yeah to be fair this is a crappy stock reference design cooler, the third party options would be much quieter 😎
Eveolution (1 month ago)
i am just a fan of amd rigs... i just need to know what the amd comparison of the 1080 TI equivalent is.
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
That would probably be Vega 64, although I don't think that stands up too well to the Ti maybe the regular 1080 but I think it's the best they currently have.
DatWonka (1 month ago)
60db hot damn
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
😭fan
Mark Eugine Caderao (1 month ago)
RX 580 using 6pin to 8pins ADAPTER IS IT OKAY IF I WILL USED 4+4pin=8pins or 6pins to 8pins ADAPTER INTO AN RX 580 8GB? Because it REQUIRES 6pins and 8pins and my PSU ONLY HAVE 2pcs of 6pins and 2pcs of 4pins. Do i need to buy a new POWER SUPPLY?
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Should be fine.
Optic500 (1 month ago)
rx580 is more powerful than an overclocked 1080ti. But the rx 580 has 8,000 MHz tho
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
I have my doubts 🤔
Garrett Poorbaugh (1 month ago)
Alright Jarrod, this is not a rx580. You see, I saw these cards on Craigslist for really cheap; red pcb and a 6 pin power connection. Now, none of the 580's that have ever been made have a 6 pin; they all have 8 pin. What happened is Dell made an Alienware computer and was lazy, so, they took the RX 480 and flashed the bios to make it LOOK like a 580, but it is in fact a 480. This explains your inability to overclock much, because it is literally a 480.
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
I borrowed it from a Dell desktop that I was reviewing at the time 😛
Garrett Poorbaugh (1 month ago)
+Jarrod'sTech yeah I know, it took me a while to figure it out. Pretty crazy really lol. How did you get the card if you don't mind me asking?
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Yeah maybe, couldn't tell you what Dell did, all I can do is work based off what the card was called 😉
Crazy Baker (1 month ago)
i plan to buy this card... but i do not know which cpu should i pair with.. i plan i5 7650x.... what you think?
Crazy Baker (1 month ago)
my motherboard support 7 generation..
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
I'd look at the i5-8400, but you've also got the higher 8500, 8600 and 8600K options available, but all of those will require a new motherboard. You could of course buy a better 6th gen CPU that would fit your existing socket if you just want to do an in place upgrade though.
Crazy Baker (1 month ago)
my motherboard is gigabyte b150-hd3... i have now r7 370 nad intel i3 6100 3.7ghz.. i plan to buy rx 580 8gb and some i5? What you reccomend
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
I'm assuming you meant the i5 7640x? Do you already have that CPU? If so it should work pretty good, although I find it difficult to recommend buying Kabylake-X unless you're getting a really nice deal on a motherboard, as you basically have to buy an X299 board and will only be able to use half of the memory slots, it's already been discontinued so the CPU itself may be a good price, just keep in mind total platform costs.
Shadow Chaser (1 month ago)
is rx 580 good or gtx 1060 6gb
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Personally I'd go the 1060, but it depends on the games you're playing. Hardware unboxed did an excellent video here comparing both of them in 27 games: https://youtu.be/1p9lySsrYcw
DarknessGamers (1 month ago)
I got a prebuild (yes I know, but it was cheaper than building) with RX 580 8 GB and i5-8400 for $650 gotta say rx 580 is a beast
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Nice one 👌
Shanedoestech (1 month ago)
Im abit weary since it has a red pcb.
Jarrod'sTech (1 month ago)
Well as mentioned it's a garbage reference card, basically anything else you could purchase will be a little better although performance difference would be negligible
ZetaGridLock (2 months ago)
My Sapphire 580 Pulse is cool and quiet even @1410MHz Core +8℅ Power Limit. Cant even hear the fans in their default fan curve. Btw I got it brand new and with warranty for just 9995 PHP or around 99USD
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Nice! Yeah basically anything is better than the reference style cooler I had 😛
Cesotoseot (2 months ago)
I got an XFX RX580 at Frys for $280. Went in an Asus Strix x399 motherboard with a TR 1900x. Really couldn't be happier.
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Nice one!!
felipe milller (2 months ago)
500w is good?
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Should be fine for a 580 graphics card PC yeah.
S-4OK1 (2 months ago)
legit :)
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
😁
Jono Bond (2 months ago)
How much does this card cost?
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
I don't think you can specifically buy this reference model, so just look for other 580 cards online, I'll put links in the description later with some options
RoCk ShaDoW-WaLkEr (2 months ago)
I grabbed a MSI RX580 Armor 8G OC for $329 CAD and am getting a Kraken AIO GPU cooler for it, it's a cheap 80$ CAD upgrade that will alleviate the somewhat loud oem fans and give more than $80 worth of increased performance. The RX580 was put into my newest build. - i7 8700k ( obvious choice for a gaming build, even for a die hard AMD fan) -Corsair H something aio cpu cooler -32GB of Corsair Vengence RGB ram -1TB Crucial M.2 drive -Gigabyte Aorus 3 RGB mobo -650 watt Thermaltake RGB Fusion fully modular PSU. -Thermaltake Versa C22 RGB Snow edition case I really like the fact the money I saved just by grabbing the RX580 rather than a 1080/1080ti or RX Vega was more than enough to get an extra 16gb of ram, upgrade the M.2 drive to a TB instead of getting a smaller OS M.2 with a mechanical storage drive and go fully modular on the PSU. Being able to spend that extra money on something other than GPU allowed me to build the PC I really wanted (for a change). No regrets on the RX580 OC card I got and I can't wait to see how it performs with the Kacken GPU Cooler.
RoCk ShaDoW-WaLkEr (21 days ago)
Lmao! Your trying to bring mobile processors into it to try and skew the scale don't stress I never said that i5 processors weren't ok for gaming rigs or knocked any non 8700k cpu inside gaming machines. We all know the game developers and gpu manufacturers are bleeding us dry to buy new better faster hardware meanwhile they aren't even coding games to operate on cores and threads not used by the OS and never more than 2 cores. Right there a lot of idle unused power just doesn't get used because of lazy inefficient coding and the same is true for cpus after 2 cores pretty much. even modern games rarely use more than 2 cores no matter if it's a quad core, 6 core,8 core or Xeon and in that sense you are 100% right in saying for a gaming system i5s and other choices are just as well as an i7 in building a gaming rig right now ;but things like sse versions and all these other bs things in which software and firmware versions can render our hardware obsolete if we've got too many years of gaming out of our hardware. Rip Phenom2 1090t's with six cores and tons of power rendered obsolete by an SSE call only required by Denuvo which was cracked in no time anyways and most the companies released a quick patch to add support for the older phenom2 processors for all the games except a couple. So in saying the 8700k for me was the obvious choice, it's personal for me and heavily based on being very current gen technology. I wasn't trying to egotistically say it was the obvious choice ;but understand how it could come across. Plus I was either building with a 8700k or going 1900x thread ripper and the cost of just the x399 mother board made the 8700k the obvious choice. I should have been more clear rather than just saying I've been red and not providing more context like what the 8700k was competing with in my build to make it the obvious choice. Long winded ;but if you want me to say sorry any better then I don't know what to say lol
TheElcazador12 (26 days ago)
+RoCk ShaDoW-WaLkEr that depends, there are many cases where an i5 is better than some i7, in older generations or in most laptops
RoCk ShaDoW-WaLkEr (1 month ago)
For the price difference going with the 8700k and all it's cores and over clocking capability buying anything less is like putting a V6 in a Corvette just because it will still be able to drive. Only someone who doesn't know much about technology would dare say an i5 is on par with an i7 8700k.
Lowie Dewind (1 month ago)
The 8700k isnt an obvious choice for gaming the i5 would have done just the same as the i7
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Sweet! Yeah there are some decent deals at the moment as cryptocurrency mining has being dying down, pretty good time to buy 😃
John Paul Bacon (2 months ago)
Nice Video. I have been using my MSI RX-580 Gaming X 8gb since April of 2017 - been serving me well. My previous card was the ASUS STRIX Radeon R7 370 Overclocked 4 GB - which is now my back-up video card in case any thing happens to my RX-580.
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Thanks, sounds pretty good!
Daniel Burns (2 months ago)
Try war thunder @ movie settings
Daniel Burns (2 months ago)
Jarrod'sTech :(
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
I don't have the card anymore for further testing unfortunately.
Raidzor つ ◕_◕ つ (2 months ago)
This is weird...Every other benchmark online has almost 2X your performance
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
In what particular games? If it's stuff like PUBG then the results aren't comparable, only directly comparable to built in benchmark tools where the exact same runs are done. In any case this is a reference model, so I'd also expect any other option to perform better.
Quackerson (2 months ago)
I can’t wait to get one next month for my birthday
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Nice!
No Name (2 months ago)
Noise is definitely a deal breaker for me but with a backplate that’s a great looking card lol
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
No problem! If you have to look at it every day looks are important too 😁 but yeah I'd always pick performance and save a bit of money 😛
No Name (2 months ago)
Jarrod'sTech I keep finding myself being a looks snob( this is my first build) but then right before I order each piece I start watching your vids and a few others and sacrifice the looks. Lol thanks for the great content!
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Yeah I like the look but if I was buying a 580 there are much better options available from other companies.
LazyPanduh (2 months ago)
That model of rx 580 is not good for temperature and sound don't get it if u don't like these things
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Agreed, I would never buy this over a third party AIB option.
UnFazeablE 7 (2 months ago)
Use DX 12 for DX 12 supported games
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
I don't currently have a method of testing DX12, the software I use does not support it and I haven't yet looked at moving to anything else.
Viepr (2 months ago)
4:36
Viepr (2 months ago)
true but it matters what kind of settings you're good with. I would do high - ultra (ultra may be useless but I like considering it as it's highest possible settings) and I'm worried about tearing. I found a 1440p 27" Gsync 1ms TN panel HP Omen online for $330 so I'm thinking..... what a profit I could get
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Yeah I have a 1080 but I just use FreeSync screens, adaptive sync doesn't really do much for me, at higher refresh rates tearing is less of an issue I think.
Viepr (2 months ago)
lol niceeee you replied! Btw im stuck on choosing a monitor. I'm going with a GTX 1080 so I'd prefer Gsync but I just don't know
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
✈✈✈🚀🛩
James Foreman (2 months ago)
Just got mine and its awesome running it in 4k for a lot of games
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Nice!
Bagman (2 months ago)
How do you “modify” the fan curve? People keep saying to do that and that it makes it quieter and/or cooler. Is that true and how do you do it?
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Usually possible in the software that comes with the particular card.
Spartan1937 (2 months ago)
Just got a RX 580 8gb for £200 new, I think that's a pretty good deal.
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Nice one! Hope you like it 😁
Matas Kart (2 months ago)
I got my rx 580 last christmas as a prenent and my parents paid about 300-400 euro for it, though it might be getting bottlenecked abit by my cpu: Intel core i3-6100, the pc does the job and actually mine (asus doom edition) doesn't get that loud, though after a full out max overclock 2 hour game sesion sitting in a quiet room it seems like i have a jet engine in my case :D, but can't notice it while gaming since I mostly have my volume turned up to 60-70% of my speaker's max volume, overall great card and I'm really happy with it :), great review.
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Thanks! Cool, good to hear you like it 😃
rein Mikky (2 months ago)
I got mine for 195 bucks used
shako tsitsqa (1 month ago)
mine was for 130$
Jarrod'sTech (2 months ago)
Nice one!
Conflictive (3 months ago)
reference cards are a joke, look at that tiny fan and these temps lol
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Indeed.
LM_DCCXL (3 months ago)
ah yeah, I remember my rx480 msi gaming x, it had 60 dB playing me: andromeda, it looks just the same but with a 5 instead a 4.
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
😰😰
EDvgtv (3 months ago)
Just bought my RX 580 today for my build!
Jojo werty (2 months ago)
How much you paid ? Us dollars? Or Aussie dollars
John Kendrick Mejia (2 months ago)
I just ordered mine too for my build. Im so exited to try it especially for the freesync comparability with my monitor
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Nice!
use it for mining use a custom card for gaming :D also many ppl undervolt and underclock this card for mining cause it still get good results with lower power consumption
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Yeah I've heard that, didn't give it a go, I've been out of mining since 2011 back when I had 4x 6990s lol
Daemond Rogan (3 months ago)
Great review. I was considering this card for a long time and with this detailed review, It's a purchase. Thank you for your time
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
No problem at all, best of luck with the 580!
Steve Erickson (3 months ago)
my XFX dual fan is wayyyyy quieter and oc'ed at 1466mhz. love this card
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Nice! I'd expect any non reference model to be way better 😛
Drummerboy135 (3 months ago)
Can someone help me? I have this graphics card and ITS SICK and runs all my games amazing! HOWEVER whenever I stream or record on Open Broadcaster Software it lags a lot and I’ve tried every setting
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Cheers! Good luck
Drummerboy135 (3 months ago)
Jarrod'sTech I’m not sure I’ll have to see but thanks and great video!
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Hmm not too sure then, any other resources maxed out while you do it? Latest drivers etc?
Drummerboy135 (3 months ago)
Jarrod'sTech usually like 19% roughly which I find bad
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
What's your CPU usage looking like while streaming?
Ivan Arjun Lukman (3 months ago)
Damn, my 970oc is about the same and it cost me just 150$, WTF!
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Yeah I'd probably buy the 1060 if I was picking between the two, haven't checked prices recently but in the past the AMD one cost a fair bit more as it was better at cryptocurrency mining.
Ivan Arjun Lukman (3 months ago)
Jarrod'sTech yes, makes the rx cards kinda obscelete. I bought a gtx 750ti for 60, sold it for 80, bought a 960 for 80, sold it for 120, and bought a 970!
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Good deal! Yeah the 580 8GB seems to be similar to the 1060 6GB, so yeah I guess around that 970 level.
Plarage (3 months ago)
ITS BEAST
Plarage (3 months ago)
for its price, its budget beast
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
It's ok 😛
Forecy (3 months ago)
It's not RX 580, its RX 480 btw :)
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
It's sold as a 580 in the PC that it came with and HWInfo reports it as 580, yes I know they basically just rebadged the 400 series 😛
Mr 285 (3 months ago)
Where are you guys finding the radeon branded cards?????? I can't find them to save my life
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
I borrowed this one out of the Dell PC that I reviewed, not sure if you can buy the 580 reference model directly
Mitchell Halutick (3 months ago)
That isn't the best cpu for gaming the best cpu for gaming is the I5 8600k it beats the i7 so you're wrong.
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
The differences are small, but in general it still does better: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GJGJ0RzPyL0
Angel Sierra (3 months ago)
I have a 1050ti , currently the 1060 still expensive i can go for a 580 It is a good upgrade? I usually play at high only to get higher fps
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
No problem!
Angel Sierra (3 months ago)
Jarrod'sTech yea thats true, my 1050ti only have a year old and its fairly good, its better option to save for next gen to a real upgrade, thanks for reply
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
It's not too much of an upgrade, go for it if you really need more and can sell the 1050Ti, otherwise I'd probably wait a little bit and see what the next generation has to offer as that shouldn't be too far away.
Haris Zaheer (3 months ago)
Even I was thinking it to be a 1440p card... It turns out to be 1080p card.
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Yeah pretty good for 1080p but I would look at something more powerful for 1440p myself.
Agent Hunk (3 months ago)
I like it.I bought the ROG Strix GL702ZC and I am happy with the performance.
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Good to hear!
Gideon Coleman (3 months ago)
This looks like the gpu in the video? https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Radeon-GDDR5-Video-Graphics/dp/B07BH3QPTT/ref=sr_1_14?ie=UTF8&qid=1532833493&sr=8-14&keywords=amd+gpu+card
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
I haven't tested it myself, but this should give you an idea: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UT7at2ufEac
Gideon Coleman (3 months ago)
Jarrod'sTech How does the rx 580 4gb perform compared to the rx 580 8gb?
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
That's the 480, which is similar but that one has 4GB, so half as much here and would therefore not quite perform as well.
do you have ultrawide 1080p benchmarks of this beauty?
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Hmm it'd probably go alright with medium settings in most games, just a guess though given it can basically handle any game at 1080p with good settings.
im so glad u replied :3. but do you think a rx580 (just like strix top oc) would be able to handle the 2560x1080 resolution. I've been finding benchmarks but unfortunately all are not updated and I'm not sure if the recent updates of AMD has improved these cards.
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Unfortunately not, I didn't have a monitor with any of those resolutions available at the time so didn't do testing for it, sorry!
Meatball Souls (3 months ago)
I bought it for 300 euros which was a pretty good deal if you ask me.
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Not bad!
Freememans (3 months ago)
I don’t have much money but should I get the rx 580 or a gtx 1050 ti?
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
The 580 8GB is closer to the 1060, not sure about the 580 4GB if that's what you mean. Probably still the 580 though, this video shows how it performs against a 1060 3GB which will generally be better than 1050Ti: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vzx-us9g86U
Fat Nut (3 months ago)
great review, I just bought a Dell Inspiron: AMD Ryzen 7 1700 - 16 gig RAM - Radeon RX 580, basically the exact same thing you used in this review, I'm quite happy with my choice after watching this video.
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Nice! Yeah it's a decent PC 😃
Hakeem Harris (3 months ago)
4:35 sounds like you're about to board a jet plane
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
I am, destination 60 FPS at high settings 😎🛫
KroneYT (3 months ago)
Up until Christmas 2017, I had been using an Intel Core i3 for PC gaming. I got used to it, my friends were horrified. I then got the Dell 5675 for Christmas that you showed in your video. I wanted to see if it was worth it, I'm glad to see that it is, as I am someone who isn't really in the know about computer parts. Naturally the person who is, is just a big Intel fanboy and told me that my setup was shit *ONLY* because it was AMD and not Intel. I need new friends.
Jarrod'sTech (3 months ago)
Maybe they're just mad AMD parts perform better than what they have 😛 the fact is the Ryzen CPUs offer really good performance for the money compared to Intel these days, as long as it plays games well for you then that's all that matters 👍
Basil9 (4 months ago)
What is considered a safe temp for this? Ive been worried that temps around 70 can damage the computer.
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
No problem!
Basil9 (4 months ago)
Jarrod'sTech thanks
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
If a component gets too hot, it will just throttle back and perform less, if it gets too serious things will just turn off, these days it's extremely difficult to actually damage something due to heat. 70 is perfectly fine, don't worry about that at all.
Jim Georgiev (4 months ago)
thats crazy! my i7 3770k oc'd to 4.2 with up to 5ghz turbo and 2gb gtx 670 x2 in sli score 11,800's in fire strike 3dmarks bench test. damn! i guess my old baby can still hang with the new stuff
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
I feel like sli will always dominate benchmarks like firestrike 😛
Pinkus Floydus (4 months ago)
Thats strange my rx580 with 4gb of vram runs pubg and witcher 3 at a solid 60 fps at 1080p on ultra.
Pinkus Floydus (4 months ago)
Jarrod'sTech Yes but this card has double the vram mine does and you didn't cover Witcher 3, I was just pointing out its strange because it is.
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
That game gets plenty of updates and my results aren't exactly recent 😛 and frame rate will vary quite a bit depending on where you are in the game and what other players are doing, without using my same replay not really feasible to accurately compare
cool guy (4 months ago)
I love this gpu
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
👌
LikeIwould (4 months ago)
In my country 1060 is $400 And Rx580 Is $440-$460 😑😥😭 Just tell me which one is better In Designing (3D modeling and Heave Video Editing And rendering) Im getting a 1700 or 2700 Cpu BTW
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
Hmm nothing in particular comes to mind, I haven't looked at that many, only some MSI ones, I've got videos on the channel of them.
LikeIwould (4 months ago)
Jarrod'sTech Thank You so much Just found one 1060 for 385 Literally took me hours even Ebay is expensive im gonna go for 1600 coz its cheaper and i can probably get closer to 2nd Gen by Overclocking it. Thanks again Just one More Help here, any suggestions for the mobo ?
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
I'd probably just go the 1060 because it's cheaper and in games performance is similar, you should probably look for specific benchmarks in the applications you plan on running though. Sure, Ryzen is pretty good, little improvements with Ryzen 2 but the first gen is still good.
LikeIwould (4 months ago)
Jarrod'sTech im getting a 1600 for $220 its the cheapest here do you think its a good option ?
LikeIwould (4 months ago)
Jarrod'sTech So which one do you prefer for these Tasks ? Im confused please help me out here !
BigDogHavoc (4 months ago)
So this is the equivalent to a gtx 1080, or is the 1080 better
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
It's equivalent to an Nvidia 1060 6GB, Hardware Unboxed recently did a good comparison video between the two in a number of games here so you can see the differences: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1p9lySsrYcw
Udith Kavisinghe (4 months ago)
I have the PowerColor RED DEVIL Golden Radeon RX 580, I have clocked at 1475MHZ stable.
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
Anything sounds better than the reference model 😁
Nuclear _LUKE (4 months ago)
what 1% low means please ?
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
It's a way of measuring the dips in performance, this video explains it pretty well: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l6WgbfG_z-k
Jaws Xensroid (4 months ago)
Just want to ask before I buy, the Gigabyte AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB is good?
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
It would probably run better and quieter than the one in the video, about on par with the Nvidia 1060 6GB I think, which is able to play all modern games pretty easily at good settings 1080p 60 FPS.
Ser Zippy (4 months ago)
i get better FPS with two 4GB 580's 😐
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
That is expected 😛 two GPU cores will make a much larger performance difference than double memory.
Sébastien Dubois (4 months ago)
I have a problem, I bought an Alienware Aurora R6 last week. It says it has a Nvidia GeForce 1070 gtx...Now I open the pc and noticed it's a Radeon RX 580 in there. Is this a scam?? Should I cry? Or just take a seat?
Sébastien Dubois (4 months ago)
Yep :(
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
No problem! Sounds like you didn't get what you paid for, so I'd definitely go back to the seller in that case.
Sébastien Dubois (4 months ago)
Sorry, it was listed as 1070 on his ads and when I received my monitor today, I decided to check all my specs... That's what I thought...Well the guy had no idea, he didn't even know what was better between 1070 and 1080 (no joke).... Anyway you said 1070 is a fair bit better, I have my answer. Thank you very much for the quick answer.
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
Where does it say 1070? Somewhere in Windows, or do you mean when you bought it? If it was listed as 1070 when you bought it then sounds like they just sent you the wrong one, you should contact them about it and get the correct one as the 1070 is a fair bit better than 580.
Clint-Excalibur71 (4 months ago)
MSI releasing their MKII variant of their Armor GPU's makes this Graphics Card worth buying :)
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
Oh cool!
UncommonGaming (4 months ago)
Radeon 580 is a decent gpu. It's a future proof gpu. I really like this one. It's great for dx12 games. But for dx11 games.
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
Yeah should be pretty good for a while to come.
Louis rodriguez (4 months ago)
The only thing I hate about pc’s 6 months later your hardware is Obsolete
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
Well maybe not obsolete, but possibly something better. I only just recently made a new PC in late 2017, before that I used the same hardware from 2010 😂
Oscar Castillo (4 months ago)
Didn't know there were 6 pin 580s. Though they were all 8 pin, both 8 and 6 pin.
Clint-Excalibur71 (4 months ago)
Aftermarket GPU's are 8 Pins, reference cards uses 6 Pins. It all depends on the size of the GPU
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
I think it's just the reference model, which I pulled out of an OEM Dell 5675 PC.
HauzenSteve (4 months ago)
But can this run roblox?
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
Sure.
Robert Galvan (4 months ago)
Hardly no one is buy reference cards or these blowers. please pick a better choice of doing 2018 Gpu's of an Rx 580
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
That is correct, in fact i don't think you can even buy a reference 580. Unfortunately, I am a small channel so I can only make videos with what I'm able to get, which in this case was this, yes it is not ideal but it's what I have.
Mike (4 months ago)
Can it run FORTNITE?
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
Yeah easily, even at epic settings it will be no problem and work very well.
SOTOS S (4 months ago)
Just buy a GTX1070 it is much better
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
It is, but also costs more, this is closer to the 1060 6GB, which I'd personally still pick over this.
Roj Agid (4 months ago)
Keep it at 580 likes
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
Haha perfect!
Colin Williams (4 months ago)
The 1060 outperforms this card, and they are actually cheaper than the rx 580 as well.
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
They trade blows depending on the game, hardware unboxed did a really good video comparing the two the other day with 27 games: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1p9lySsrYcw
Pedro Flores (4 months ago)
I’m planning to make a node 202 build with a rx 580 but worried it will get too hot
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
It'll probably be fine if you have anything that's not the reference model 😛
Proto Dead (4 months ago)
1060 6gb or 580 8gb?
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
Hardware Unboxed actually just put out a really good video comparing the two a few minutes ago, 27 games tested: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1p9lySsrYcw
Proto Dead (4 months ago)
Jarrod'sTech I see, thanks for your opinion, would save for one
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
I'd probably go the 1060, generally cheaper as Nvidia cards don't perform as well as AMD for mining so they're less sought after.
Erics email (4 months ago)
I would much rather have a gtx 1060 6gb card.
Erics email (4 months ago)
better performance, better value.
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
Me too.
I.G.D (4 months ago)
from where you got that model i cannot find it help!!
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
Fair enough!
I.G.D (4 months ago)
Jarrod'sTech yeah if you say so, i just like the reference models nvidia founder's editions likewise
Jarrod'sTech (4 months ago)
It's the reference model, don't think you can specifically buy it, I pulled it out of a Dell 5675 but you'd be much better off getting a third party option with better cooling.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.