HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Hardware Unboxed

Ryzen Mobile in 13-Inch Ultraportable Tested: HP Envy x360 13 Review

1843 ratings | 47952 views
Check prices now: HP Envy x360 13: https://store.hp.com/us/en/mdp/laptops/envy-x360-204075--1 HP Envy x360 13 (Amazon): https://amzn.to/2LmKH55 LG Gram 13: https://amzn.to/2NLg9a2 Acer Aspire E 15: https://amzn.to/2NIYYpl Acer Predator Helios 300: https://amzn.to/2OeIZ3m Microsoft Surface Book 2: https://amzn.to/2NKYEXl Support us on Patreon https://www.patreon.com/hardwareunboxed Ryzen Mobile in 13-Inch Ultraportable Tested: HP Envy x360 13 Review FOLLOW ME IN THESE PLACES FOR UPDATES Twitter - http://twitter.com/hardwareunboxed Facebook - http://facebook.com/hardwareunboxed Google Plus - http://goo.gl/xx14Uj Instagram - https://goo.gl/8lhprr Music By: https://soundcloud.com/lakeyinspired
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (376)
I had bought this one quite a while. At first, I had no problem and was very happy. But since the middle of July, I can't use a pen which I can use it before. I don't know what is the problem. But I guess it would be because of update.
Alvin Alvero (2 days ago)
very nice review. hope you reach 1M subs soon. you deserve it.
Cody Conzet (3 days ago)
The Ryzen 3 2300u with vega 3 graphics version is written incorrectly on HP's website. It's actually a Ryzen 3 2300u with vega 6 graphics. I know because AMD only sells it that way and I purchased this laptop and the AMD system information says it is a Vega 6 graphics card. The Vega 3 GPU only comes with the Ryzen 3 2200u which is not an option when purchasing this laptop.
Naman Goyal (3 days ago)
Team blue is better!
Mo Tee (4 days ago)
Does this have dual channel ram setup?
Deceived One Gaming (6 days ago)
Tim I'll donate for a Haircutt
walzzzyyy yy (6 days ago)
When's this come out in Canada
Thomas Bakker (6 days ago)
After this review i ordered this Envy 13" with ryzen 5. I have to agree with everything in this review. Especially the line "The fan does get quite loud under load". https://youtu.be/VS9BAgMlL2o?t=13m10s After unistalling HP Bloatware, having a max CPU of 5% in Task Manager; the FAN is on NON-STOP during IDLE. This is a deal breaker for me. Please don't think this is as quiet as a Intel opponent... Yes: tried all the modes in HP Command Center. Yes: The bios setting "Fan allways on" is disabled.
Lim Wiching (7 days ago)
I'm plan buying this model, so trying this model Envy X360 Ryzen5 in local computer shop, but feel keyboard area is warm (a bit hot) on Ryzen 5 model, Ryzen3 model less warm, any one have this model use condition in outside area (I means like in coffee shop, not direct sun) without air-condition ? i worry too hot cause laptop unstable.
Thomas Bakker (6 days ago)
It wont be unstable but you have to deal with loud fan noise when your working where the laptop also exhaust a lot air. See my other comment about this.
Lou D (7 days ago)
On sale for $599!
Metatron's Cube (7 days ago)
weird there is only a 150$ difference between the 13 and 15 here.....
Gustavo Ayala (7 days ago)
Shame theres no thunderbolt ! good price tho
Stale Baguette (8 days ago)
I have the same laptop but I didn't get the pen. I bought it form china
Noah Barnhart (8 days ago)
This is definitely nit-picky, but I have the 15in, and I'm pretty sure the speakers are on the bottom, the grill up front is just for show...
Kegan Rahe (8 days ago)
The 2300u "Vega 3" is not what it actually is. its a typo and that chip combo does not exist. the 2200U is the Vega 3 chip.
Vinamra Rastogi (8 days ago)
Similar to the Dell Inspiron 13 7373
90AlmostFamous (8 days ago)
competition is good, intel had to make significant improvement to their 8th generatoin cpus
Dan Achiriloaei (8 days ago)
Do one for the Lenovo 720S!! 😁
Corey Watford (9 days ago)
When you mentioned "Upgradable" did you mean through HP's site or can I pop a few screws to upgrade ram or the m.2 drive?
Mina Ayman (3 days ago)
you can upgrade the m.2 drive
Nik Rieder (9 days ago)
Is it normal that when im on googel or sth that the fans are geting very loud?
Junior PL (9 days ago)
Did you notice that this laptop is missing fingerprint sensor? I assume it's US model - from the link you provided under "Tech Spec", it states at the bottom "Fingerprint sensor". I was disappointed to receive mine without it...
Faren Rezky (9 days ago)
Great review... But will be better if you review the gaming fps too
Tam (9 days ago)
Can i use this for maya or 3d rendering?
Roshan Mujeeb (9 days ago)
Which configuration of this laptop has 4096 levels of pressure sensivity? Thanks.
ryan lenihan (9 days ago)
As an Aussie I was going to buy one of these until I saw the price. I just couldn't justify when I knew I could get it in USA far cheaper. I ended up buying a 2nd hand surface book instead.
santimaster2000 (9 days ago)
If you don't care for a 2 in 1, and just one an Ultraportable, you can get a Xiaomi Mi Air 13 with an nVidia MX150 for the same price as an Envy X360 13 base model.
Mustafa Alaabo (9 days ago)
250 nits? it's not even visible in a well-lighted room!
WisseSpring (9 days ago)
USB-C with power delivery is probably one of the best features of this laptop imo. Using only one cable to connect to the monitor, which then charges your laptop and provides USB hub for peripherals is the future. Transforming from ultraportable to decent office machine with one action.
Robandoban (9 days ago)
I have this laptop and I've been really impressed with it's preformance overall. It's a very solid laptop
Flavia Pitariu (9 days ago)
Great review. I'm tempted to get a nitro v with 2700u and 560x
Eduardo Avila (9 days ago)
What about the throttle? I've heard it throttles so bad as the intel ulv chips...
kingdomhart3 (9 days ago)
I have the 15 in model and I absolutely love it. I highly recommend anyone to get this laptop especially the Ryzen 7 model.
Jesus McBeth (9 days ago)
Is the ram upgradeable?
WisseSpring (9 days ago)
No. It's soldered.
Sukrit Singh (10 days ago)
How is the battery life ?
Simon Huang (10 days ago)
This laptop was on sale for $1200aud for a month but ended not too long ago! Shouldve bought one then but the battery life was worrying me.
Angel Manuel Perez (10 days ago)
I was disappointed by HP's decision for this device since you can't get the Ryzen 7 with 16gb of RAM as this amount of RAM is only available on the Ryzen 5 config. Incredibly odd as users looking into the Ryzen 7 config will most definitely also need the 16GB...
rationalityfirst (10 days ago)
The kb layout is almost perfect. Shorter right shift and full size up/down arrows would make it perfect
Ikram Ramli (10 days ago)
soooo pretty..
Andrew Smith (10 days ago)
I was so excited until you mentioned the price in Australia. That really sucks. Hopefully they put a sale on for it.
RogueBlazer (10 days ago)
Can you charge this laptop using a phone charger?
Tomas M (10 days ago)
Is the RAM upgradable on the 13" model ? I would like to upgrade it to 16gb sometime in the future.
Kem Sprite (10 days ago)
Bought the 15 inch ryzen 5 last week love it
Luke Kulak (10 days ago)
wait how exactly is it better than the 15 inch??
AMDSITHLORD (10 days ago)
very good stuff amazing review.
I love specs, but i'll skip this one. I like the cosmetics of the specter more.
leighton lanzetta (10 days ago)
i hate hp they are soo horrible when compaque and them became one hp went to shit
Dub Monster (10 days ago)
It looks so tempting, sadly no TB3
Rheller82 (10 days ago)
An ultraortable 2 in 1 that I can game with? finally!
Dizzy Gear (10 days ago)
I knew Aussie paid more, generally, for products but that's just blatenet price gouging. The closest thing I could find to a reason would be that Aussie have a much higher minimum wage, which is a bullshit reason lol Go figure HP, one of the worse of OEMs for product quality now, would pull bs like this. They also put more effort into the Envy series but make their EliteBooks out of plastic now instead of aluminum, and charge more? Doesn't help that I work with HPE so I'm a little fed up with them lol
Alex (10 days ago)
Review the mx 110! My 4 years old geforce 840m is better than this gpu, ps any good compact entry level pc (able to play some old light games)? 700$ are too much noting that i have already an msi gaming laptop.
Nathan Thompson (10 days ago)
Im surprised that its rare for AMD laptop to come with decent screen quality where as most Intel laptop has better quality screen. Most of AMD old generation laptop has very mediocre screen.
hashhakaj kamaluden (10 days ago)
13 inch fun playing machine for below 800$. That's enough good. Good luck AMD
bgnicolas (10 days ago)
Shouldn't Ryzen 2300u be paired with Vega 6? Why HP's site shows it is with Vega 3?
Zalphor (11 days ago)
Why is it better than the 15 inch? I mean the USB-C charging is definitely a boon but if you cant use just any charger then its not going to do you much good. Dont get me wrong its a step closer to not having to buy a new OEM charger if you leave it somewhere while traveling or a cable gets cut. but then you still have to consider, your not going to go to just any store or gas station and pick up a sufficient charger. nice idea, but we are barely getting there as far as im aware. Not to mention your losing quite a bit of GPU performance for basically an extra hour of watching video and a few extra minutes of playing a game at a worse frame-rate on a down-scaled resolution....
JordMan0007 (11 days ago)
Fantastic review! Very descriptive.
백윤진 (11 days ago)
I got both i8 and ryzen 7 envies. Both were defective and went straight to the service center. Ryzen doesn't seem ready for the prime time yet with frequent wifi drops. My unit's display couldn't display solid colors without thin vertical lines going through. I am excited about AMD mobile cpus but I won't be getting them in any HPs.
NewKingBrandon (11 days ago)
I like to see Ryzen laptops or anything pre-built really. More competition for Intel is always nice for us consumers
Nintendork (11 days ago)
As I always say, I wish they get rid of 16:9 for laptops in favor of 16:10 and 3:2. It's way better for productivity specially this 180° tablet mode laptops.
Ben Coomer (11 days ago)
I love my 15 in from last year. Definitely powerful enough for even decent gaming with things like Shadow of War.
Chocolate Sheep (11 days ago)
no thunderbolt=shit. thats why ill stick to intel for my new laptop even though this is a tantalizing device.
Nick Chapman (11 days ago)
ha @ the stormtrooper overseeing the outro!
Joshua (11 days ago)
I've been looking at this same laptop as this is one of the few 13" Ryzen 2 in 1's that has dual-channel RAM, besides the Dell Inspiron 13" which is much heavier.
Nightss10 (11 days ago)
Skip to 3:44 for sexy fondling of the keys.
Hardware Unboxed (11 days ago)
Why rush it? Take 3 minutes and 44 seconds to get there mate.
Crebic (11 days ago)
In Canada it’s $1100 on Amazon
Craig Deeter (11 days ago)
If you liked the HP, you'll love the Huawei 14" Matebook D https://www.walmart.com/ip/Huawei-MateBook-D-Signature-Edition-14-IPS-FHD-Touch-AMD-Ryzen-5-2500U-8GB-RAM-256GB-SSD-Radeon-Vega-8-Graphics-Dolby-ATMOS-Win-10-Home-64-bit-Mystic/507473681
Raman (11 days ago)
OMG, I have 15 inch version, it is horrible. Worst laptop I've ever owned. Cooling solution is horrible and to compensate they have made the fan curve so aggressive. When just watching a YouTube video you can really hear the fan ramping up, so annoying. And I'm not even complaining about the lag of graphics driver updates since "side loading" desktop Ryzen APU graphics drivers seem to work now. But I'm not impressed with the graphics performance either, just barely better then my old laptop with a 940m. Since you can't actually game on this thing, I recommend looking for new i5 model for now. Hopefully second gen Ryzen mobile will have will be better and as for HP, never again. They simply seem to cannot to make a properly cooled laptop.
Eduardo Avila (7 days ago)
Sir Robot The problem really is the mediocre cooling system. I've searched and even lenovo y720, dell g3 and g7, acer nitro 5, all of these thicker laptops alsp throttle, so do these thin laptops. Unfortunatly i think i will need to get a 2012-2013 third gen intel core because in that age they knew how to propperlly cool down these laptops...
Sir Robot (8 days ago)
Raman Try updating drivers and BIOS
Andy O Brien (8 days ago)
Agreed, the feedback is that all the Ryzen Ultra Thin Laptops have been butchered by Lenovo , HP, Dell - You get Loud Fan noise and overheating issues even when just browsing web pages , thats simply unacceptable in 2018 when Tablets without any fans do the exact same without making any noise or getting overheated . So I will say this again and again and again . Ultra Thin Ryzen Laptops = Avoid
Eduardo Avila (9 days ago)
Raman I've seen some vids about people conplaining that it throttles. And it isnt a little. I really dont have any issues with loud fans and was thinking in buying that laptop. I will search a bit more then
Raman (9 days ago)
Eduardo Avila I don't think so. But fan noise is too loud so I change max processor state in advanced power settings so so it doesn't go over 1.7 GHz.
Morris Laurent (11 days ago)
Just aesthetically, this laptop looks pretty awesome.
Khaffit (11 days ago)
recommended this one to multiple friends :P my other friend has the specter x360 (intel) version and the spealers are way better there
learningbird (11 days ago)
This Envy Ryzen laptop is easy to find at the HP store starting at 600 usd, but could not find it at the US Amazon, but was able to find it at the UK and German ( but not the French ) Amazon stores.
Sopheris (11 days ago)
You should definatelly talk more about fan noise that unfortunatelly kills ryzen in my eyes (probably not amd fault). There is nothing worse than working whole day on noisy laptop that gives you headache and you seem to fully ignore that aspect and focus on irrelevant 10% performance differences... Other than that very good review.
Iron Warrior (11 days ago)
I wish that in my country its price would be lower, because it is more than 1000$ (the cheapest one). Damit high tax!
Christian Axelsson (11 days ago)
Im so glad I did not fast forward to performance. I am actually in the market for a drawing pad. i have a regular wacom digital pen but it is so hard to get the eye/hand coordination right. And the touchscreen ones cost a fortune. This would be a great option for coloring, traveling, light gaming (while traveling) and so on. Might actually pick this one up this fall =)
Mark Davenport (11 days ago)
WHAT IS WRONG WITH WINDOWS LAPTOPS? Why they always use proprietary power ports? They HAVE USB-C. Just add a second USB-C port and include a USB-C to USB-C cable and USB-C power supply in the box. Stop this nonsense, HP, Dell, Microsoft, and anyone else who still does it (unless your laptop draws over 100 watts, of course. The Surface Book 2 needs that Surface Connect port unless it uses two USB-C cables...)
UltraDXSASC (11 days ago)
No Finger Print like Ah0002 Envy Laptop, seems weird
Christopher Knight (11 days ago)
Well, HP probably had to redesign the laptop so it could be used upside down by Australians. It makes sense if you think about it.
Liam (11 days ago)
In the uk hp only sells this with 8gb ram
Nicky Jeanty (11 days ago)
Can someone help me out here it would be very appreciated..So yesterday I was setting up my very first PC, after flashing it with a USB I selected Windows 10 Pro without a key and everything was fine until I forgot about buying a USB WiFi adapter..So I unplugged everything and set up the PC near my router to connect it with an Ethernet plug, EVERYTHING was going well until all the sudden after booting to Windows the monitor started flickering like every 2 seconds oh so, I went into the BIOS and everything was fine it didn't flicker went into safe mode no flickers I did this thing where I had to right click start button/ msconfig and service to disable these two things (Windows Error Reporting and Problemd Report and solutions) but the problem still persisted. Tried it many times but same thing would happen when ever the PC boots to Windows, but the thing is this didn't happen the first time it booted to Windows and so I was frustrated and confused to why, I know the problem is within Windows 10 I just don't know how to fix it SO PLEASE HELP
Matt Mellor (11 days ago)
$699 Or £799 in the UK = $1030... And the UK model only has 128gb SSD and doesn't include the pen. Bruh
Funk Bungus (11 days ago)
anybody got that wallpaper @1:55?
Marc-André B (11 days ago)
Finally a premium feeling laptop with decent hardware (unboxed) for a reasonable price.
David Dungey (11 days ago)
you mentioned this was Fortnite capable a couple of times, but legit zero benchmarks? uncool bro - a throwaway line at least (720p30, etc) next time, pls.
LOHTEC (11 days ago)
Would have liked to see comparisons with the TDP limited MX150 version for 13 inch. You mentioned it, but have considered those models previously.
Lo-fi Guy (11 days ago)
This looks like something I might buy
Luredreier (11 days ago)
So, what about maintainance manuals for this thing?
James Mastroianni (11 days ago)
The impressive thing isn't that Ryzen mobile is a quad core in a laptop, with decent integrated graphics. The impressive thing is that its only draws 15 watts. This shows just how much more power efficient AMD's silicon is right now. For reference in order for for Intel to maintain that 15w tdp, they have to keep the base clock of the 8250u at 1.6ghz, while AMD has the 2500u at 2ghz. I know not all ghz are equal, but higher frequency means higher power draw, and AMD can manage to pull that higher frequency in the same power enelope. Not to mention there is actually a worthwhile gpu attached to the 2500u, which is also in that power budget. So even if AMD is not winning in CPU performance, they are winning MASSIVELY where the OEM's care, and that is power efficiency. As consumers we tend to not care too much about power draw (a whole different issue), but the OEM's, businesses, and enteprise care a lot about power draw, between needing more cooling and just paying higher electric bills, so seeing just how much more you get out of the same power envelope by going with AMD will be a huge swing in preference for both OEM's, and professional/enterprise environments. As Tim said, this laptop with an Intel cpu would require an Nvidia gpu, which would not only cost more, but require more cooling and better power delivery. So this is the real win, and the people who needed to know this already know it and they are already capitalizing on it.
brian2559 (11 days ago)
$700? Damn
Melvin Hans (11 days ago)
Would you say get this or an i5 with a 1050 for $450-600ish or one with a 1050ti/1060 for 600-750ish.
Bob Bob (9 days ago)
Melvin Hans i5 gtx 1060,if ur buying an i5, try to buy at least a 6600k or 8400,i6500-7500 will stutter a bit.
Melvin Hans (11 days ago)
Talking used prices, but I have seen some sales get around that.
gio calle (11 days ago)
at the beginning i was skeptical about you as reviewer(dunno why),but now i love your videos and i can't wait for next one...good job man:)
FeTi Productions (11 days ago)
If it was just 200 USD cheaper
DigBipper188 (11 days ago)
Finally! someone reviews another Zen powered laptop!!
M Huang (11 days ago)
why doesnt ms make the next surface from ryzen? it's not like ms is ever going to need T3 so
Wayne Jenness (11 days ago)
Thanks for this review. Thinking a new laptop might be in my future...
Abdurrehman Syed (11 days ago)
Please bring us more Ryzen mobile videos, thanks :-)
Silver Knight PCs (11 days ago)
I will say that the feature set and overall build quality looks very good especially for a laptop in this price and in this size. My only concern is the one that falls on almost every single HP laptop since the Pavilion days... Overall quality of circuitry reliability and the longevity of the PCB. HP devices have a notoriously High failure rate. That's one reason I've been avoiding them as a brand for a long time.
Jesus McBeth (11 days ago)
Very good review!
flaconY1 falconY1 (11 days ago)
you got sponsored?
ulamss5 (11 days ago)
Mid-range product? This is a flagship-tier product no matter how you examine it, HP just decided to get into the charity business. My whiny and buggy XPS hasn't been touched for months.
Hardware Unboxed (11 days ago)
Nah it's not flagship tier, that's HP's Spectre line
Jesus McBeth (11 days ago)
Wow and that's ryzen 8 vs mx150... And that mx150 is what, prolly the fast version? (there was this issue with slower/cut down versions I think a bit ago? (not the DDR4 gt1030 nor the 3gb 1050 nor the 5gb 1060 nor the gp 104 1060 r the one I'm talking about...(damn unbelievable I have to type this... Like wtf nvidia lul)
Jesus McBeth (10 days ago)
Hardware Unboxed tnx
Hardware Unboxed (11 days ago)
The MX150 in the charts is the "slow" version
Luc Desormeaux (11 days ago)
Mmmmm. I'm not sure if he likes Star Wars.... :)
Because Mexico (11 days ago)
Shut Up and get my money

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.